top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMadeline Morkin

I Want to Write Right, & I Want to Write Wrong.

Updated: Mar 5, 2020

I can’t help but loving to write. I misspell. I use weak vocabulary. I make hundreds of grammatical errors, and yet, I continue to type on my 10,000 word thought document, continue to write in my beautiful gold-binded Ted Baker journal, and I continue to keep messy mid-day notes wherever is made available to me in that moment. I continue to write because the entire point of writing is to defy all said rules. (Yes, despite what your English teachers have previously told you about there being no wrong answers in English, there are). But these same universal rules that are meant to be followed are also supposed to be broken. If they weren’t, there never would have been Emily Dickinson, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Virginia Woolf. Must I go on? Because, if you have enough passion while breaking these rules there is potential to enter into a new realm of adventure or emotion, one that can only ever be fully recognized by you, the writer, and only interpreted by everyone else. I want to write. I want to write right, and I want to write wrong. I want to make people feel something new, and I have no idea what that even means yet, but I believe in two things: love and magic. I believe love is certain and magic is uncertain. Allow me to sprinkle the magic of uncertainties into your lives through my writing- my confusing, wrong and right, grammatically-incorrect, but soulful and hopefully humorous writing. P.S. I don’t know if anyone noticed but Grammarly says I have 11 mistakes in this paragraph alone. Imagine that, I just wrote wrong writing and thought I was right. I’m still a writer, and I know that because you're reading my wrong writing, and you’re feeling something. Whatever it may be, I hope it’s magically confusing, and I hope you love it.

What keeps you up at night?


73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page